Faith Ringgold

Faith Ringgold, born 1930 in Harlem, New York is a painter, mixed media sculptor, performance artist, writer, teacher and lecturer. She received her B.S. and M.A. degrees in visual art from the City College of New York in 1955 and 1959.

In the 60s Faith created a significant body of work that has been the subject of several solo museum shows and a catalogue published by the Neuberger Museum. In 2016 the Museum of Modern Art purchased a monumental painting, “Die” for their permanent collection.

Known for her story quilts, Faith made her first quilt, Echoes of Harlem, in 1980, in collaboration with her mother, Madame Willi Posey. However, these paintings were not only bordered with fabric but quilted, creating for her a unique way of painting using the quilt medium.

Ringgold’s first story quilt Who’s Afraid of Aunt Jemima? was written in 1983 as a way of publishing her unedited words. The addition of text to her quilts has developed into a unique medium and style all her own.

Crown Publishers published Faith Ringgold’s first book, the award winning Tar Beach in 1991. It has won over 20 awards including the Caldecott Honor and the Coretta Scott King award for the best-illustrated children’s book of 1991. An animated version with Natalie Cole as the voice-over was created by HBO in 2010. The book is based on the story quilt of the same title from The Woman on a Bridge Series, 1988. The original painted story quilt, Tar Beach, is in the permanent collection of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City.

Faith has written and illustrated 18 children’s books and has received over 80 awards and 23 Honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degrees. Her work is in the permanent collections of numerous museums including The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, Whitney Museum of American Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and The Brooklyn Museum in New York, among others.

Faith Ringgold is as important to the overall culture of America as she is to the specifics of contemporary American art. From her earliest breakthroughs during the turbulent decade of the 60s and continuing into the new millennium, Faith Ringgold maintains her stature as a creative and cultural force.


Books by Faith Ringgold

Tar Beach, Crown Publishing Company, New York, NY (1991)

Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad in the Sky, Random House, Crown Publishers, New York, NY (1992)

The French Collection Part 1, Englewood, NJ (1992)

Dinner at Aunt Connie’s House, Hyperion Books For Children, New York, NY (1993) Scholastic Inc., New York, NY (2007)

My Dream of Martin Luther King, Crown Books for Young Readers, New York, NY (1995)

Bonjour Lonnie, Hyperion Books for Young Readers, New York, NY (1996)

7 Passages To A Flight, Brighton Press, San Diego, CA (1997)

The Invisible Princess, Crown Books for Young Readers, New York, NY (1999)

Counting to Tar Beach, Crown, New York, NY (1999)

Cassie’s Colorful Day, Crown, New York, NY (1999)

If a Bus Could Talk, Simon and Schuster, New York, NY (1999)

Coming to Jones Road, Good Stuff Press, Englewood, NJ (2000)

Cassie’s Word Quilt, Crown, New York, NY (2001)

O Holy Night, by Public Domain, illustrated by Faith Ringgold, Harper Collins, New York, NY (2004)

The Three Witches by Zora Neal Hurston, illustrated by Faith Ringgold, Harper Collins,

New York, NY (2005)

Bronzeville Boys & Girls, by Gwendolyn Brooks, illustrated by Faith Ringgold,

Harper Collins, New York, NY (2007)

Henry Ossawa Tanner: His Boyhood Dream Comes True, Bunker Hill Publishing,

Piermont, NH (2011)

Harlem Renaissance Party, Harper Collins, New York, NY (2015)

We Came to America, Alfred A. Knopf, New York, NY (2016)

Books About Faith Ringgold

Faith Ringgold: Portrait of Women Artists for Children by Robyn Montana Turner, Little Brown (1993)

Dancing at the Louvre: Faith Ringgold’s French Collection and Other Story Quilts by Dan Cameron, University of California Berkeley and Los Angeles, California (1995) Art on Fire: The Politics of Race and Sex in the Paintings of Faith Ringgold, By Dr. Lisa Farrington, Millennium Fine Arts Publishing, NY (1999)

Faith Ringgold: A View From the Studio, by Curlee Raven Holton, Bunker Hill Publishing in association with Allentown Art Museum, Charlestown, MA (2004)

Faith Ringgold, David Driskell Series of African American Art by Dr. Lisa Farrington Pomegranate, Petaluma, California (2004)

Getting to Know the World’s Greatest Artists: Faith Ringgold By Mike Venezia, Scholastic, Children’s Press, New York, NY (2008)

Faith Ringgold (Portraits of Women Artists) by Robyn Montana Turner,

Little Brown and Company, Boston, MA (1993)

American People, Black Light: Faith Ringgold’s Paintings of the 1960s, traveling exhibition organized by the Neuberger Museum of Art, Purchase, NY (2010). Exhibition catalogue edited by Thom Collins and Tracy Fitzpatrick; essay by Michele Wallace.

Books By and About Faith Ringgold

We Flew Over The Bridge: Memoirs of Faith Ringgold, Little, Brown & Company, Boston, MA, (1995) Duke University Press, Durham, NC, (2005)

Talking to Faith Ringgold, Crown Books for Young Readers, New York, NY (1996) Author/Illustrator: Faith Ringgold, Nancy Roucher and Linda Freeman

A Letter to my Daughter Michele: in response to her book, “Black Macho and the Myth of the Superwoman”, CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2015)

Featured Works